Reading French Feminism in Post Apartheid South Africa

“She says: The only interesting thing is to try and speak the language of another that you don’t understand”- J.F. Lyotard Postmodern Fables, 61.  Can we relate this to how Coetzee portrays his female characters (namely Lucy and Magda) and how their identities (and understanding of gender/feminism) contributes to the larger patriarchal problems of  the socio-political world of Post Apartheid South Africa? Read “Provoking Patriarchy: The Connection Between Gender/Feminism and Life in Coetzee’s South Africa”, my final linked above, to find out. Step 1: Click “Provoking Patriarchy” for the table of contents.  Step 2: Click “Introduction” and rest of the tabs for the rest of the paper. Enjoy!

About Jessica G.

Hi! I'm a graduate student in English at Cal State Northridge. I also teaching writing in my department and I love it. I love reading, writing (I guess that's what fueled an interest to get an English MA), teaching, and of course movies/music and spending time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment